STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION Consent Item

October 20, 2021

SUBJECT: Appointments to the Education Practices Commission (EPC)

PROPOSED BOARD ACTION

For Approval

AUTHORITY FOR STATE BOARD ACTION

Section 1012.79, Florida Statutes

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

Section 1012.79, Florida Statutes, requires that the Education Practices Commission be comprised of 25 members appointed by the State Board of Education from nominations by the Commissioner of Education and subject to Senate confirmation. Of the 25 members, 10 must be teachers; 5 must be administrators (at least one of whom shall represent a private school); 4 must be lay citizens (whom shall be parents of public school students and who are unrelated to public school employees); 2 must be former charter school governing board or district school board members or former superintendents, assistant superintendents, or deputy superintendents; and 4 must be sworn law enforcement officials.

Nominations for re-appointment:

Melissa Pappas, Orange County Kathy Wilks, Sarasota County

Nominations for appointment:

Timothy Holley, Duval County Ken LaPee, Okaloosa County

Supporting Documentation Included: Resumes: Timothy Holley, Ken LaPee, Melissa Pappas and Kathy Wilks; List of Current Education Practices Commission Members; and Section 1012.79, Florida Statutes

Facilitator/Presenter: Dr. Paul O. Burns, Deputy Chancellor, Educator Quality