STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION Consent Item

October 18, 2023

SUBJECT: Selection of Members to the Charter School Review Commission

PROPOSED BOARD ACTION

For Approval

AUTHORITY FOR STATE BOARD ACTION

Sections 1001.02, 1002.3301, F.S.

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

The 2022 Legislature created the Charter School Review Commission within the Department of Education. The Commission will have the same power and duties as other charter school sponsors regarding the review and approval of charter schools. The Commission shall consist of seven members who have charter school experience, selected by the State Board of Education and subject to confirmation by the Senate. The Commissioner of Education shall designate one member as the chair. Each member shall be appointed to a four-year term. However, for the purpose of achieving staggered terms, of the initial appointments, three members shall be appointed to two-year terms and four members shall be appointed for four-year terms. All subsequent appointments shall be for four-year terms.

The following members are proposed to serve four-year terms:

Dan Foganholi, District 5 Representative, Broward County School Board

John-Anthony (Jay) Boggess, Superintendent of Palm Beach Christian Academy, former Chief of Staff, Palm Beach County School District

Sara Clements, State Government Relations, McGuire Wood Consulting, former Florida Legislative Affairs Director, Foundation for Excellence in Education

Suzanne Legg, Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Dayspring Academy, Pasco County

The following members are proposed to serve two-year terms:

Jim Murdaugh, President, Tallahassee Community College

Rudolfo (Rudy) Rodriguez, former Executive Director, Florida Schools of Excellence Commission, current audit and budget advisor to Miami-Dade County Public Schools

Frank Mingo, former Vice Mayor, Miami Lakes

Supporting Documentation Included: N/A

Facilitator/Presenter: Adam Emerson, Executive Director, Office of Independent

Education and Parental Choice