Skip to Content
Florida College System
Skip Navigation

About Us

Division of Florida Colleges

Welcome to the Division of Florida Colleges. The division serves and provides coordination for the 28 public community and state colleges that comprise the Florida College System. Each college is statutorily assigned one or more counties that comprise the college’s “district” or service area. Constitutionally, each college is governed by a district board of trustees appointed by the governor. The FCS is under the supervision of the State Board of Education (SBOE).  The Chancellor of the Division of Florida Colleges reports to the Commissioner of Education and is referred to in Florida Statutes as the “Chancellor of the Florida College System” when specific duties are assigned to the position.

Policies of Florida's College System generate from activities of the State Board of Education (SBOE) and are authorized by the Florida Constitution and the Florida Legislature. The SBOE meets periodically throughout the year to discuss policy and consider and approve system decision items. The division implements the rules of the State Board of Education and Florida Statutes through regulatory processes and by providing technical assistance, data, and support to FCS institutions.

Governing Laws, Rules and Policies

Contact the Division of Florida Colleges