Skip to Content
FCAT 2.0 Historical
Skip Navigation

Writing Rubrics

Rubrics are the scoring guidelines or criteria used to evaluate FCAT and FCAT 2.0 Writing essays. The rubric describes what is required for each possible score point. Three separate documents posted at the bottom of this page provide the rubrics for FCAT and FCAT 2.0 Writing, which will continue to be used through spring 2014.

Holistic Scoring Method Used in FCAT and FCAT 2.0 Writing

The holistic scoring method used to score FCAT and FCAT 2.0 Writing requires trained readers to evaluate the overall quality of each student's draft. Rather than focusing on any one aspect of writing, readers consider the integration of four writing elements: focus, organization, support, and conventions.

Focus refers to how clearly the paper presents and maintains a main idea, theme, or unifying point.

Organization refers to the structure or plan of development (beginning, middle, and end) and the relationship of one point to another. Organization refers to the use of transitional devices (terms, phrases, and variations in sentence structure) to signal both the relationship of the supporting ideas to the main idea, theme, or unifying point and the connections between and among sentences.

Support refers to the quality of details used to explain, clarify, or define. The quality of the support depends on word choice, specificity, depth, credibility, and thoroughness.

Conventions refer to the punctuation, capitalization, spelling, and sentence structure. These conventions are basic writing skills included in Florida's Sunshine State Standards and Next Generation Sunshine State Standards.

The FCAT and FCAT 2.0 Writing rubrics for grades 4, 8, and 10 further interpret the four major areas of consideration into levels of achievement and establish the criteria for each possible score point on a scale of 1 to 6, a 6 being the highest score.

Frequently asked questions (PDF) providing additional guidance on FCAT 2.0 Writing are now available on the Department website.

FCAT and FCAT 2.0 Rubrics