Skip to Content
Principal Achievement Award For Outstanding Leadership Program
Skip Navigation


The recipient of the 2018 Principal of the Year will be awarded a cash prize of $5,000. State finalists will be awarded a check for $1,500, and each district winner will be awarded a check for $312.

2018 Principal of the Year

Kenneth SavageKenneth Savage
James Stephens International Academy
Lee County

After serving successfully as principal at Veterans Park Academy for the Arts K-8, Kenneth Savage was appointed as a turnaround principal for James Stephens International Academy. In one year, Savage helped improve the school grade from an F to a B. He is commended for being a self-starter and critical thinker, and he is known as a diligent data user who always focuses on the ultimate goal – student achievement. He is a member of Principal Leads in Lee County and mentors other administrators.


Rick Fleming

Brevard County
West Shore Jr/Sr High School
Melbourne, FL

Traci Wilke

St. Lucie County
Lawnwood Elementary School
Fort Pierce, FL

District Winners:

Blythe Carpenter

Bay County
Merriam Cherry Street Elementary School
Panama City, FL

Elaine Saef

Broward County
Panther Run Elementary School
Pembroke Pines, FL

Tracy McLaughlin

Clay County
Ridgeview Elementary School
Orange Park, FL

Sonya C. Judkins

Columbia County
Richardson Six Grade Academy
Lake City, FL

Karen Leigh Tillis

Dixie County
Old Town Elementary School
Old Town, FL

Susan Phillips

Duval County
Chets Creek Elementary School
Jacksonville, FL

Susan Sanders

Escambia County
R.C. Lipscomb Elementary School
Pensacola, FL

Benjamin Osypian

Flagler County
Old Kings Elementary School
Flagler Beach, FL

David Bond

Florida Department of Corrections
Columbia Correctional Institution             
Lake City, FL

Deborah Adams

Florida Virtual School County
Florida Virtual School
Orlando, FL

Steve Crognale

Hernando County
Endeavor and Discovery Academy
Brooksville, FL

Dr. Linda Laye

Highlands County
Sun ‘n Lake Elementary School
Sebring, FL

Sharon Waite

Hillsborough County
Lockhart Elementary Magnet
Tampa, FL

Kathrnie Pierandozzi

Indian River County
Wabasso School
Sebastian, FL

Jessica Smith Craven

Jackson County
Cottondale Elementary School
Cottondale, FL

Stephanie Helms Mayuski

Lake County
East Ridge Middle School
Clermont, FL

Marla Massi-Blackmore

Manatee County
James Tillman Elementary School
Fort Myers, FL

Maritza D. Jimenez

Miami-Dade County
Hialeah Gardens Middle School
Hialeah Gardens, FL

Anne Frances Herrin

Monroe County
Gerald Adams Elementary School
Key West, FL

Dylan Tedders

Okeechobee County
Okeechobee High School
Okeechobee, FL

Patricia Bowen-Painter

Orange County
SunRidge Middle School
Winter Garden, FL

David Noyes

Osceola County
Kissimmee Elementary School
Kissimmee, FL

Sandra Edwards

Palm Beach County
Washington Elementary School
Riviera Beach, FL

Dr. Denise Miller

Pinellas County
James B. Sanderlin PK-8 School
St. Petersburg, FL

Mary Wood

Putnam County
Q.l. Roberts Jr-Sr High School
Florahome, FL

Maria LaDouceur

Santa Rosa County
Radford M. Locklin Technical Center
Milton, FL

Linda Daniels

Sarasota County
Cranberry Elementary School
North Port, FL

Peter Gaffney

Seminole County
Winter Springs High School
Winter Springs, FL

Allen Anderson

St. Johns County
Palencia Elementary School
St. Augustine, FL

Malcolm Hines

Suwannee County
Suwannee High School
Live Oak, FL

Dr. Julie Roseboom

Volusia County
George Marks Elementary School
DeLand, FL