Skip to Content
Principal Achievement Award For Outstanding Leadership Program
Skip Navigation


The recipient of the 2019 Principal of the Year will be awarded a cash prize of $3,500. State finalists will be awarded a check for $1,000, and each district winner will be awarded a check for $270.

2019 Principal of the Year

Michelle KeffordMichelle Kefford
Charles W. Flanagan High School
Broward County

Michelle Kefford has been an educator for more than 19 years and has been the principal at Charles W. Flanagan High School since 2011. With her at the helm, Flanagan High School earned its first ever A and has received an A for six out of the seven years. Since her tenure as principal, she has initiated several programs including “Kefford’s Kids,” a mentoring program and “Falcon Flyers,” an initiative to enable middle school students to earn high schools credits at Flanagan High. As a passionate educator, she has held various positions on district committees; volunteers on several city and county committees; and works continuously to build school pride and staff morale.


Joshua Balkom

Bay County
Deane Bozeman School
Panama City, FL

Cynthia Emerson

Indian River County
Vero Beach Elementary School
Vero Beach, FL

David Alfonso

Palm Beach County
Palm Beach Lakes Community High School
West Palm Beach, FL

Linda Burris

Pinellas County
Largo Middle School
Largo, FL

District Winners:

Ena Leiba

Brevard County
Sea Park Elementary School
Satellite Beach, FL

Michelle Kefford

Broward County
Charles W. Flanagan High School
Pembroke Pines, FL

Treasure Pickett

Clay County
Oakleaf High School
Orange Park, FL

Beverly Budzynski

Collier County
Sea Gate Elementary School
Naples, FL

Donna Darby

Columbia County
Pinemount Elementary School
Lake City, FL

Diana Locke

Dixie County
Dixie County High School
Cross City, FL

Crystal Lewis

Duval County
New Berlin Elementary School
Jacksonville, FL

Laura Touchstone

Escambia County
Pine Forest High School
Pensacola, FL

Jon Peacock

Flagler County
Indian Trails Middle School
Palm Coast, FL

Sherry Bees

Florida Atlantic University
A. D. Henderson University School and Florida Atlantic University High School
Boca Raton, FL

Cathy Tapley

Florida Department of Corrections
Florida Department of Corrections Avon Park Correctional Institution
Avon Park, FL

Jennifer D’Aquisto

Florida Virtual School
Florida Virtual School - Flex 6-12 - D'Aquisto Schoolhouse
Orlando, FL

Delshuana Jackson

Gadsden County
Havana Magnet School
Havana, FL

Lisa Cropley

Hernando County
Challenger K-8 School of Science and Math
Spring Hill, FL

Carla Ball

Highlands County
Avon Elementary School
Avon Park, FL

Ronald Mitchell

Jackson County
Sneads High School
Sneads, FL

Cory Oliver

Jefferson County
Jefferson K-12: A Somerset School
Monticello, FL

Jacob Stein

Lake County
Mount Dora Middle School
Mount Dora, FL

Clayton Simmons

Lee County
Estero High School
Estero, FL

Ann McDonald

Manatee County
W.D. Sugg Middle School
Bradenton, FL

Gary Smallridge

Marion County
Fort King Middle School
Ocala, FL

Christopher Jones

Martin County
J.D. Parker School of Technology
Stuart, FL

Humberto Miret

Miami-Dade County
Miami Southridge Senior High School
Miami, FL

Laura Lietaert

Monroe County
Key Largo School
Key Largo, FL

Rhonda Devereaux

Nassau County
Callahan Middle School
Callahan, FL

Thelma Jackson

Okeechobee County
Seminole Elementary School
Okeechobee, FL

Nadia Winston

Osceola County
Central Avenue Elementary School
Kissimmee, FL

Carin Hetzler-Nettles

Pasco County
Cypress Creek Middle/High School
Wesley Chapel, FL

Christopher Roberts

Polk County
Bartow Middle School
Bartow, FL

Bryan Helms

Putnam County
Interlachen High School
Interlachen, FL

Michelle Barlow

Santa Rosa County
W.H. Rhodes Elementary School
Milton, FL

LaShawn Frost

Sarasota County
Booker Middle School
Sarasota, FL

Mary Williams

Seminole County
Paul J. Hagerty High School
Oviedo, FL

Amanda Riedl

St. Johns County
Mill Creek Academy
St. Augustine, FL

Andrea Popwell

St. Lucie County
St. Lucie West Centennial High School
Port St. Lucie, FL

Nicole Wade

Sumter County
Lake Panasoffkee Elementary School
Lake Panasoffkee, FL

Amy Boggus

Suwannee County
Suwannee Elementary School
Live Oak, FL

Stacy Gotlib

Volusia County
River Springs Middle School of Technology and Innovation
Orange City, FL

Tammy Smith

Walton County
Van R. Butler Elementary School
Santa Rosa Beach, FL